Raceway 7 set to open 2017 season May 5 with five classes of racing!

Conneaut, OH (May 2, 2017): Raceway 7 will welcome fans and racers to the 2017 season this coming Friday, May 5, 2017 with a full evening of racing including heats and features for all five divisions, led by the Evergreen Lake Park Campground CARS Crate Late Models. Several specials are planned for the summer including a Driver’s Appreciation night on June 2, an appearance by the Big Block Modified Tour June 23, two appearances by the Patriot Sprint Tour on May 19 and June 30. The Penn/Ohio Street Stock Series will be in town on July 14 for a $1000 to win special. The CARS Crate Late Models will run topless August 18. All kids will be admitted free if in uniform on July 7 when the Western Pennsylvania Vintage Modifieds will appear. Bob and Jackie Vogt will be remembered with a special E-Mod event on August 4. Fireworks will be presented on three nights, May 26, June 30, and the season ending final points night on September 1.

2016 Champion Dennis Lunger will have his hands full defending his championship in the Evergreen Lake Park Campground CARS Crate Late Models against the likes of Chad Wright, the 2015 champion, Kyle Zimmerman, another former champion, Dave Lyon, Dave Airgood, Matt Latta and the rest of the CARS field. The top drivers in the class will be aiming for the checkers every week.

Jowl Watson is expected to be back to defend his Bonnell’s Collision Center E-Mod championship, the third of his career. Ken Zimmer, along with Dan McDonald, Percy McDonald, a two-time champion, Brent Rhebergen, and Chuck Steinle Jr are all expected to return to attempt to wrest away the top honors for the season. All are veterans and past race winners so Joel’s reign at the top may well be in jeopardy. Troy Johnson made his presence known last season, finishing the year third in the standings with several top-five finishes, and is expected to be at or near the front of the field again in 2017, along with Lunger, driving both top classes, finishing second in the E-Mod rankings last season, and Mike Kinney, a winner last season. Of course the McDonalds, Dan, Percy, and Josh, all proven winners, will be back to attempt to take home a championship.

Rob Bates ruled the ranks of the Campbell’s Mini Storage Street Stocks, wrapping up the 2016 title with a 118-point edge over runner-up Shaun Fawcett, the 2015 champion. Ed Bolyard, Chris Hochschild, Don McGuire, Chris McGuire (a four-time winner in 2016), plus Jimmy Kennerknecht are expected to challenge for the champion’s laurels.

The Bonnell’s Auto Sales Economods were paced in 2016 by the Steve Haefke, defeating the 2015 champion Rick Prosser by 39-points, who is expected to defend his title in 2017. Haefke’s title wasn’t easy with Prosser and Eric Reinwald always challenging. Brad Blackshear collected a couple feature wins last season and will be in contention again. Tyler Frankenberry and Kevin Sergeff filled out the top five in 2016 and always will run near the front.

Jason Easler won the Specialty Products Mini-Stock season championship last summer and will likely be a dominating force in the championship hunt yet again. Hoyt Mihalak finished 110 points behind the champion with former champion Bud Sergeff third in the final standings. Kyle Adkins made his presence known all season and is on the verge of becoming a consistent winner. Two-time former champion Brad Cole finished fifth in the standings in 2016.

Raceway 7 is located six miles south of Interstate 90 on Route 7 in the town of Monroe Center, OH and races every Friday night May — September. Racing begins at 7:30 PM every Friday. General admission for regular events is $10 and children 7-14 admitted for $5 each. Kids 6 and under are always free. NO PETS are admitted to the track! Fan and pit gates open at 5:30 PM. Pit admission is $25 with minimum age 18. Children under 18 admitted with a “Minor Release” form available at pit gate that must be filled out by a parent accompanying the youth. Raceday information is available at (440) 594-2222. The track maintains a website at www.raceway7.com.

Comments are closed.