Patriot Sprint Tour at Raceway 7 this Friday!

Conneaut, OH (May 17, 2017): Raceway 7 will welcome the Patriot Sprint Tour for the first of two scheduled events this season for the alcohol-fueled winged warriors. Four-time and defending American series champion Jared Zimbardi is expected to be in attendance. Zimbardi already has a win this season and is the current points leader. Joining Zimbardi in the quest to win the Bonnell’s Collision Center sponsored $2000 winner’s purse will be last year’s winner Kyle Drum, Joe Trenca, former champion Bryan Howland, and Scott Kreutter as well as the rest of top 360 sprinters in the northeast. At this early point in the season Zimbardi holds a 20-point lead over Steve Collins with Trenca third, Dylan Westbrook fourth and Jason Barney fifth. Only 28-points separate the top five with twenty between first and second. Only eight markers separate second through fifth.

All regular divisions will be competing for the second time this season. Opening night saw a classic battle between long-time rivals in the Evergreen Lake Park Campground CARS Crate Late Model division as former champion Chad Wright held off 2016 Champion Dennis Lunger, winning the Feature by a scant .438 second margin. Kyle Zimmerman, another past champ, was third, followed by Wendall Pinckney, who picked up his first win last summer, and Eric Wilson, in his first visit to Raceway 7.

After three years of running E-Mods Jeremy Double drove to the Bonnell Collision Center E-Mod Winner’s Circle. Double defeated Jeff Johnson and multiple-time champion Joel Watson to earn that elusive win. Troy Johnson and Mike Kinney rounded out the top five.

Defending class champion Shaun Fawcett started his title defense with his first Campbell’s Mini Storage Street Stock feature win with a green to checkers run at the front of the field. Anthony Maratto settled for second with Chris McGuire overcoming mechanical issues for third. Jamie Duncan wound up fourth with Pat Fielding fifth.

Brandon Blackshear took over at the front on lap four from fifth on the starting grid to handily win the Bonnell’s Auto Group Economod feature by a quarter lap over early leader Tyler Frankenberry. Geoff Conn, Steve Haefke, and Mitchell Wright rounded out the top five. Conn and Wright are both looking for their first feature wins and both showed last week that they have the ability to run at the front. Will this be the week for a first win for these determined drivers?

Zack Downes powered his way from tenth to first in only two laps of the Sunnyside Farms Transit Inc Mini Stock feature, defeating last summer’s champion and nine-time 2016 winner Jason Easler. Bill Fuchs was third with Corey Wick and Logan Keney turning in excellent runs for fourth and fifth.

Raceway 7 is located six miles south of Interstate 90 on Route 7 in the town of Monroe Center, OH and races every Friday night May — September. Racing begins at 7:30 PM every Friday. General admission for this special event is $15 for adults and children 7-14 admitted for $5 each. Kids 6 and under are always free. NO PETS are admitted to the track! Fan and pit gates open at 5:30 PM. Pit admission is $25 with minimum age 18. Children under 18 admitted with a “Minor Release” form available at pit gate that must be filled out by a parent accompanying the youth. Raceday information is available at (440) 594-2222. The track maintains a website at

Comments are closed.