Racing every Friday night!

Expandmenu Shrunk

Fireworks, regular racing this week at Raceway 7 as championship battles heat up!

Conneaut, OH (August 19, 2014): Regular racing in all divisions this week plus Fireworks by Gibson are on the schedule this Friday as the season winds down with season championships going down to the wire in three of the five divisions.

With only two weeks left in the 2014 racing season the points races are really heating up and every position is more important than ever. The Evergreen Lake Park Campground Crate Late Models have an exceptionally close race with Matt Latta holding a slim ten-point lead over Kyle Zimmerman. Every position will be extremely important with the championship going right down to the wire. Defending champion Chad Wright is only 52-points behind Latta so still has a mathematical chance to repeat his championship should the front runners experience trouble in the final stretch. 2009 champion and opening night winner Dennis Lunger is currently 4th, 102-points back with Darrell Bossard another 28-points back in fifth.

Gary Eicher holds a 69-point edge over three-time defending champion Joel Watson in his bid to win the Bonnell Collision Center E-Mods Championship in the year he has announced he will retired at the conclusion of the season. 2009 champion Percy McDonald and two-time winner this season is currently third but mathematically out of the race for the championship. Track owner Dan McDonald currently rides fourth, with Mike Potosky fifth.

Two former champions, Chris Withers and Ed Bolyard, lead the Campbell’s Mini-Storage Street Stocks standings with Withers enjoying a 50-point advantage with two races remaining. Jimmy Kennerknecht is third, another 35-points behind Bolyard. Kenny Lamp and Chris Hochschild fill out the top five.

Josh Ferry took over the points lead in the Zimmer Service Center Economods standings from Steve Burns with his fourth feature win last week, albeit by only 15-points. This championship could be contested right to the final lap of the final night of racing, scheduled for August 29. The veteran Rick Prosser is currently third with former champion Brandon Blackshear fourth and Russ Kapalin fifth.

The Specialty Products Mini Stocks championship also can be contested right to the last lap of the final week with only 15-points separating leader Dale Fraschetti from 2012 champion Bud Sergeff. Fraschetti just experienced the thrill of a feature win for the first time ever earlier in the season and is looking for his first ever championship. Third is Jason Easler with 2013 champion Brad Cole fourth and former champion Carlos Aponte fifth. All five of the leaders have visited Victory Lane this season.

Weather permitting, gates open every Friday at 5:30 PM with pill draw cut off at 7 PM and racing at 7:30 PM. VIP suites are available for rental for $250 a night which includes eight general admissions passes. Admission is set for $10 for adults for regular events, kids 7-14 are $5. Children 6 and under are free. Pit passes are $25. For more information please or call the track on race day after 12 noon at 440-594-2222.

Comments are closed.